Fear that comes with Freedom

May 31, 2011 at 4:10 pm 2 comments

According to the first amendment we are given the right of freedom of speech. The thing is, will you take that freedom. Speech is something so simple, it is you talking. How could something that is supposed to be so easy be so difficult for so many people?

I myself absolutely love to talk. Words come so naturally but when it comes to talking in front of a large crowd I flip out. My grandma always told me not to worry what others thought and I thought I didn’t, but what this class has made me realize is I do. I worry of rejection from my classmates. I fear not being accepted. We are given this grand right of speech but it instills so much fear in us, which it was never intended to. With the help of this class I plan to use what I’ve learned to be able to spread my beliefs use my freedom and not worry what other think.

Joanna

Entry filed under: By Joanna, confidence & public speaking, public speaking, Public Speaking Evaluation, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Stepped Out of my Box and Gained Confidence Everything is coming together!!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. diminutivepixy32  |  May 31, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    I understand where you are coming from. I was taught two very different things. My grandfather always told me since I’m a female it’s better to keep my mouth shut and let everyone think I was stupid than open it and remove all doubt. However, my parents taught me no one would listen if I didn’t speak to be heard. Like you said, how could it be so hard to do??? It is fear of not being accepted. But with this wonderful class and instructor, I don’t believe I’ll have many more problems speaking publicly. (probably when i should remain silent) but we will see….

    Reply
  • 2. dbeachler77  |  June 1, 2011 at 1:31 am

    I uderstand that our most dangerous weapons is our voices and it scares the heck out of people when we exercise that right and stand up. I have always had a big mouth when it came to standing with a good cause behind it. It saddens me though to think that there are those within our government that wishes to silence our voices. I dont know why they want us quiet, besides they quit listening to us we elected them into office. We all are good and since Candee has helped up to conquer some of our fears i plan to exercise my right to speech more ofter

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,228 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

