Thank you everyone in this speech class

June 1, 2011 at 9:33 am 6 comments

When I delivered my speech I was unsure how people would feel about me afterwards.  I have been hiding behind the fact that I have had people throw a lot of things in my face about my religion.  I was really pleased to see that I found support from the most understanding  groups of people. This too had me teary eyed because, for once I took the time with this class to get to know everyone, and seeing how diverse we  really are but seeking out the goal of an education.

Thank you everyone,

 

Danielle

Entry filed under: By Danielle, Group Communication, Listening, Meaning, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

At Ease with Demonstration Speech Demonstration Speech.. Short, sweet and to the point!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. codylee211  |  June 1, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    your speech on your religion i thought was brave and couragious, it takes heart and motavation to speak on an issue that is personall yet controversial for people. i thought your speech was great and you should be open to people so they can understand, dont ever let know one bash you on your religion, i am very interested in your religion i would like to learn more. keep up the good work i thought it was great. if they are religious and judge you they are pathetic, that is like with my addiction people judge me but you have to ignore them. those people who judge you are scared to understand and undereducated. keep up the good work, and you did a great job. sincerley cody green

    Reply
  • 2. k9vol  |  June 2, 2011 at 8:01 am

    Danielle,

    You did a good job on your speech and are to be commended for your courage as well as the style and poise with which you delivered your viewpoint on such a controversial topic. You have my respect and if I were to meet you on the street I would proudly say to others that you were one of the people in my speech class that I grew to love.

    I am a Christian, by most people’s standards probably not a good one. I can identify with you when you talk about how others prejudge you without getting to know who you are. When I read my Bible, it says to speak the truth in love (Ephesians 4:15). It also says to, “Sanctify Christ as Lord in your hearts always being ready to make a defense to everyone who asks you to give an account for the hope that is in you yet with gentleness and reverence and keep a good conscience.” (1 Peter 3:15). I would like to focus on the last part of this verse. It tells me to speak with gentleness and reverence (respect). I think many of us Christians tend to not remember this last part and many times we tend to not speak with love—for this I am truly sorry.

    I shared with Mary, our classmate, over a week ago that I use to be someone who spoke my mind and did not consider how it might affect others. I did not do this intentionally. My error was due to my own ignorance—I did not realize the power of my words. When I finally understood, I made a conscience decision to make an effort to use my words to encourage and help others feel their self worth.

    I read once that everything we say will either make a withdrawal or a deposit in others’ emotional banks and at the end of the day we should ask ourselves if we have made more deposits or withdrawals. I decided that my goal and purpose in life was to make deposits.
    I want people to see what love looks like. I want them to see that they are someone with great worth and value – including you.

    Danielle, thank you for sharing. You have definitely broadened my understanding.

    Pamela B.

    Reply
  • 3. vashtione  |  June 2, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    Danielle, I am not in your speech class but I would have loved to have heard your speech. I enjoy talking to others about their religion. I don’t know your religion. I am a Christian and I believe that we should be able to speak and be friends with others who are not the same religion as ourselves. There are many things that we don’t know about a religion and in our minds we condem them even though we don’t take the time to learn about a certain religion. I have come across many people who do or say bad things and it comes down to, oh so and so told me this…. and they did not even find out that what they were so mad about was not how that religion believed. I try and teach my girls to look at the person from their heart. We are all different and what really matters is how we live our lives and treat others. I am so sorry that you have had the misfortune to meet and endure the mean remarks of people. Please remember that you are special and you are loved.
    Tina

    Reply
  • 4. gray6533  |  June 2, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    Danielle, I think you are a great person and everyone has the right to express their own unique qualities no matter how different they are! You are a very colorful person that shines in the classroom. Being different is what makes each of us special. I have enjoyed all of your speeches and would like to hear more from you.

    Reply
  • 5. Pamela B.  |  June 3, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    Don’t know if I made it clear with my first comment. You are a wonderful person and you did a great job on your speech.

    Take care. May many blessings come your way.

    Pamela B.

    Reply
  • 6. Alicia  |  June 4, 2011 at 9:17 pm

    Danielle,
    I was so glad that you did your speech on your religion, while we may not have the same religion, I have friends that share your religion, and they also have went through the same judgement were misunderstood just like you talked about. It’s so awesome that you had the confidence to talk about this, I think you have changed a lot of viewpoints and I look up to you for that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,529 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

