Reflecting on Informing

June 2, 2011 at 8:29 am 5 comments

This is a reflection on my informative speech, perhaps the most nerve racking assignment I’ve had all quarter

I was nervous. incredibly nervous. it was the speech about the salvation army. I already knew a good deal about the salvation army but not enough to base an entire speech on so i researched. before long had more than enough information to give my speech. I picked out what I thought were the most important facts and drew up note cards like Candee had told us. I didn’t rehearse the speech until the day I had to give it. I took my note cards went out to the track by the school and walked laps while rehearsing the speech to myself both out loud and in my head. I probably did ten laps and went over the speech 25 times before it was time for class and still felt unprepared to do it in front of the class. I felt tremendous pressure going into this speech and I don’t really know why. I think it was because I had done so well on the reading speech and felt that this was entirely different and that I was going to bomb.

Once I got to the podium my head swirled with all the information I had just crammed into it. I had my notecards but I didn’t want to use them. I think that without good eye contact you might as well be talking to yourself.  I remember faltering with some of the statistics right off the bat and I think that by doing so I helped myself because right then I realized that no matter what this is not going to be a perfect speech. I was surprised at how well I remembered most of the numbers, dates, names, and places without using notecards. I think that really provided I lot of strength in my speech. I promise I wasn’t just making up numbers.

Its funny that after the speech I can’t really remember exactly what I had said. I know there were things I forgot to mention but since I was nervous my mind was racing. I think I hit well on the main points and by following the appropriate steps we had learned class my speech flowed very well. The response was great and the grade was good. Being nervous did nothing but make me feel sick. I think I learned a lot from this speech and I’m glad that I was given the opportunity to do it.

Mark Short

Entry filed under: By Mark, informative speech, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Evaluation, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics, Uncategorized.

Food & Family Time Crazy enough…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. boon9492  |  June 2, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    Mark,

    All your speeches have been really good, you’re totally right about how being nervous sometimes is just silly, and creates more problems then it solves. I enjoyed your company in class, we worked on a couple group posters together and our group was awesome and worked well with each other. I hope you liked the class, it sounds like you learned a lot from it. Have a good summer!

    Erin

    Reply
  • 2. Pamela B.  |  June 2, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    Mark,

    I agree with Erin. All of your speeches have been great. You may not have felt at ease, but it did not come across that way. I guess what the text said in the beginning was true–most of our nervousness does not show.

    Good job on your speeches.

    Reply
  • 3. gray6533  |  June 2, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    Mark, I learned so much about the salvation army because of your speech! You really did a good job. From where I sat, you didn’t seem nervous at all; and you are right about how silly it is to be that way. Also, I agree with you on how well you have presented all ofyour speeches. Keep up the good work Mark!

    Reply
  • 4. sandyndrell2008  |  June 2, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    I really enjoyed all of you speeches. Some were funny and others were serious and you always seem to start them all off in the right track. You showed a lot of confidence by going up in front of the class and giving your speech and to be honest you really didn’t seem that nervous at all. I think everyone feels that way though when their giving a speech in front of complete strangers. But now that it has gotten so close to the end. I believe we have all learned something and we’ve all built a lot of confidence. Have a great summer and enjoy the rest of your classes here at SSCC!

    Reply
  • 5. Alicia  |  June 4, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    I really enjoyed your speech on the salvation army, actually It makes me want to donate to them now. I had no clue how much the salvation army does. Thanks for sharing that with us, you did great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,529 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

