The Golden Rule

June 2, 2011 at 7:16 pm 1 comment

I loved sharing with you about the Golden Rule.  Do unto others as you would have done unto you.  I am thankful for all of you listing so intently during my speech.  So many times we are so busy and are always late for something because we have so many activities planned in our day, that we just pass people by as if they were not even there.  We don’t make eye contact with people  we pass by because we don’t want them to stop and try to have a conversation with us.  That would take up too much time and I’m already late for something is usually our excuse. 

Our genetic make up is to be with people.  Not just people who you sit next to who we don’t even know their name.   Think about how good it makes you feel when you are talking with someone instead of sitting all alone somewhere.   When you take a few minuets out of your day and do something for someone or just listen to them talk, it does wonders for the other person. 

I like spending time with an elderly lady in my neighborhood.  We go grocery shopping together, run errands, and sometimes we just put puzzles together.  I enjoy listening to her stories and she gets to re-live the best times of her life.  My friend thinks I am stupid and a sucker for doing it but I don’t look at it that way.  I am only giving a small part of my myself to her and who knows but maybe she enjoys my visits also. 

Just look around and smile or say hi.  Get involved and BE THE CHANGE!

 

Tina

Entry filed under: By Tina, Listening, My Voice, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Crazy enough… Down to the Wire

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. moroni15  |  June 2, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    Tina, I would say that the elderly lady probably really enjoys your company. Sometimes the greatest gift we can give someone is an open ear. And you will be greatly enriched by her stories, as others will be gratly enriched by yours. Keep up the positive attitude, it’s infectious.

    Mark

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 168,919 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

