The Light at the End of the Tunnel

June 2, 2011 at 10:02 pm Leave a comment

The end is here.

I honestly never thought those words would escape me as I came into this quarter.

I came in terrified, thinking “How in the world am I ever going to pass this class?” and as some of you remember, I am graduating next Friday and put this class off for two very long years. I guess maybe I was hoping they’d take it off my list of requirements? 🙂

I can now say that I’m glad they didn’t. I have learned a lot this quarter. I have learned that public speaking is really not so bad. I have learned how to accept myself and to take what I have to say seriously. Sometimes you think people really don’t care what you have to say, but in all honesty, they do. And they listen. And sometimes what you say can help them and/or even teach them.

There have been so many wonderful speeches this quarter and I , personally, have learned a lot. I never knew what Anna’s Army was, I never knew Patty’s great tips for decorating, I never knew that Jamie howled at the moon, and I never knew that Hannah made such fantastic cupcakes. I also never knew that Clinton was absolutely hilarious, no matter what the speech topic was. I never even knew that I’d actually be interested in what these people had to say because all I was worried about was just making it til June.

Well June is here and I am so glad and grateful to have taken a class like this. I have met some great people and even made a friend or two along the way. I have learned more than I ever thought possible out of one class. I have even learned how to come out of my shell a little bit.

In the end, this class will be one I will never forget. Thank you Candee.

 

Jennifer

Entry filed under: By Jennifer, Experience & public speaking, Fear & public speaking, Finding Your Voice, Listening, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics, Uncategorized.

Speeches scare me “A Christian Nation” was the topic of my persuasive speech

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,519 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

