We Made It!

June 7, 2011 at 8:49 am 7 comments

We have all made it, and I think we would all say we are better people, or at least, we have all learned a little more about ourselves.  Speech class has taught us many things we will use for the rest of our lives.  We learned not only how to give a great speech, but how to notice people and consider them.  My favorite part of  the class has to be the people I met.  As we learned early on, one ingredient in a successful speech is to remember your audience.  I think we all learned that lesson well.

I loved the country vs city speech and glad to say I live in the country, aren’t we all?  Very creative, Joann and Julie.  Amanda’s speech would convince anyone to get a shelter pet.  The story of her own experience with her shelter dog was sweet and touching.  Jamie, loved your speech and the freshness of it.  It gave us a lot to ponder on.  All speeches have been fantastic!

I will miss Tuesdays and Thursdays speech class, but in life we must move on.  We all have new things awaiting us.  Hope everyone has a wonderful summer and much happiness in life.

Patty

Entry filed under: By Patty, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics, Uncategorized.

The fun of demonstrations… Preparing for the persuasive…

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. zieg7785  |  June 7, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    I completely agree with you! This speech class has taught me so much!

    I really enjoyed all of your speeches and the messages behind them. You did such a great job and I am very proud that had to courge to come back to school after all those years.

    Truth be told, when I would give my speeches, I tended to look at you because you always had a smile on your face and reminded me of my mom. This helped alot.

    It was great meeting you Patty and I hope all goes well for you!

    Hannah

    Reply
  • 2. diminutivepixy32  |  June 7, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    Patty,
    I stingily believe we will all miss speech class, just not the anxiety that comes with it. You always seemed so natural speaking in front of the class. I wish you the best of luck in life and much happiness. It was great getting to know you. And I again want to thank you for your support and kindness. ~ Jamie

    Reply
  • 3. diminutivepixy32  |  June 7, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    Patty,
    I strongly believe we will all miss speech class, just not the anxiety that comes with it. You always seemed so natural speaking in front of the class. I wish you the best of luck in life and much happiness. It was great getting to know you. And I again want to thank you for your support and kindness. ~ Jamie

    Reply
  • 4. haleyjo011  |  June 8, 2011 at 9:29 pm

    I loved all of your speeches, you never looked nervous at all. I am glad I got to take this class with you. Good luck!

    Reply
    • 5. pkfoote  |  June 9, 2011 at 1:38 pm

      Hi Haley, I wanted to get back to you – I enjoyed being in class with you also – your last speech on organ donation was very thought provoking – when my brother, Steve, died some years ago – my mother made the decision to donate his organs. Because she did, someone in need received a heart, kidney, liver and his corneas – and we keep in touch with the organization that brings the donors together and we were able to make a patch for the quilt that travels around – it’s a very important subject and your speech was great. Your speech brought back fond memories of that time and I’m so glad my mom made that decision – it changed others’ lives for the better – Have a great summer and remember no matter where you go in life – you are very important! patty foote

      Reply
  • 6. randarhoades  |  June 9, 2011 at 7:18 am

    Patty,
    I just wanted to tell you that I loved all your speeches. Others have told you how natural you seemed when you were up there giving your speeches and you did. I loved each one of them but I have to say that the Mothers Day speech was great, I guess because I am a mom and I felt a connection to you while you were giving it. I believe where ever you go to in your life the people you are around will be inspired because that is how you conduct yourself. Good Luck in the future I hope all your wish’s and dreams come true.
    Randa

    Reply
    • 7. pkfoote  |  June 9, 2011 at 1:24 pm

      Hi Randa, wanted to reply and tell you how much much I enjoyed your speeches and your presence in class. You have such a great attitude about life, and your goal to overcome all the past obstacles in your life shows through. You are a victorious overcomer. Hope you have a wonderful summer and best wishes in all you do in life. patty foote

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,474 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

