Be yourself, listen to others and love, love, love~~~~

June 8, 2011 at 1:37 pm 2 comments

This class has really made my time at Southern State worth while.  I always had a great time in this class.  It was so fun getting to know everyone and listening to their speeches.  Candee taught us through a variety of ways, and one of the best ways she has taught us was by her own example.  Every time someone gave a speech she was always interested in what they had to say.  She would always actively listen to our speeches.  One of the biggest parts of this class was learning to listen with an open-mind, and our teacher was a great example of this.  Candee also taught us by her loving, joyful, and kind-hearted spirit.

In this class and in life, we just need to be ourself.  Candee taught us to be ourselves by being her own self with her kind attitude.  On the very first day, I remember Candee sharing a quote with us.  I can’t remember the exact words, but it went something like, “All human actions come from either love or fear.”  After she said that, I realized that a lot of the things I did came out of fear of my own failures.

Candee let us know that she loved us and that was why she does what she does.  Even though I already knew the importance of love, Candee reminded me that our motives need to be out of love.  I am really glad that I took this class.  I really appreciate my teacher and all the other students in my speech class.  I have learned basic things like be prepared and relax before your speech, but Candee really  taught us important life skills.  Be yourself.  Listen to others.  And love, love, love.

Mary

Entry filed under: By Mary, My Voice, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Goodbye but not Forgotten Reading My First Speech

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gray6533  |  June 8, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    Mary, I agree with what you said and I feel all the emotions that you have felt. You discribed your feelings so well with the words that you wrote. Your words are inspiring. Have a great summer!

    Reply
  • 2. Jordan  |  June 8, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    I also agree with the mary completely. You have to listen to others to be a good listener. Very well writin.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 169,061 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

