life and its rough roads

June 13, 2011 at 6:47 pm 3 comments

Our lives are full of wonders and great moments. Have you ever wondered why we go through what we do? The hard times, the sad times, the fun times. There are many moments in our lives that take our breath away, frighten us and even makes us depressed.

It is one a.m. in the morning and I’m writing because I feel it is a good cause. We all have our troubles and difficulties. Mine is an addiction. The hardest thing to do is communicate about this addiction, with family or friends or just people in general. For me I try to understand my addiction, I try to help myself get through the day or be happy and content. But for me it always seems like a dead-end. I feel like I’m losing my mind, I am spinning out of control.

I understand a lot of people suffer from addiction, and I want people to know that I understand what they go through. It’s horrible. I try to communicate to different people, like doctors and friends and even people at the meetings I attend. But, you know it may not be enough.

Just remember there are people out there who care and want to listen to you, and know what you’re going through. I have a sponsor at the meetings I go to and he always speaks on addiction and ways to help yourself take baby steps through the hard times we go through. Just remember if you feel down, talk to someone, communicate with people. Let someone know how you feel or even how you’re doing. One of my buddies who struggles with addiction had a sponsor as well and his sponsor overdosed on drugs and died. My buddy had locked himself in a cage of guilt, anger and silence. So if you are struggling with a rough road in life, speak up and talk to someone. There are people out there to help.

I don’t know why I wrote this.  Maybe it’s because I’m having trouble myself. If you don’t mind please comment on this writing. I would like to hear feed back. It’s the good ole boy in me.

Cody

Entry filed under: By Cody, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

What it is? Be Good To Yourself – Be Your Own Best Friend

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andy  |  June 13, 2011 at 9:47 pm

    Cody,

    I honestly have no idea what kind of struggles you go through on a daily basis. Believe me when I say that I consider you to be a hero as you overcome these huge obstacles in your life. This is something you will battle for the rest of your life. But I think I can speak for our entire class when I say that we believe in you. You are stronger than you think that you are. You are a good guy, really easy to get along with and have the kind of personality that can get you really far in life, should you choose to take advantage. Remember that your path is in your hands. If you want it bad enough, you can have whatever life of your choosing. I too have had my own ups and downs. I am a dreamer and have plenty of goals I hope to accomplish. But the one goal that got me to where I am was my children. They are my world and from the moment I found out that I was going to be a father I changed. I stopped living for just myself. I knew I had to become the person that I wanted them to strive to be someday. Someone who worked hard, sought better, and who believed in themselves. These were things I used to lack, but no longer. I know you have these qualities in you. Take these feelings of struggle and channel them into a positive. We know you can do it. Just remember that you have a lot of friends from SSCC in your corner.

    Reply
  • 2. Heather  |  June 14, 2011 at 11:45 am

    “It is one a.m. in the morning and I’m writing because I feel it is a good cause. We all have our troubles and difficulties. Mine is an addiction. The hardest thing to do is communicate about this addiction, with family or friends or just people in general. For me I try to understand my addiction, I try to help myself get through the day or be happy and content. But for me it always seems like a dead-end. I feel like I’m losing my mind, I am spinning out of control.”

    I just keep going back to this paragraph. How many times have I found myself writing at 1:00 AM? How many times have I been writing to myself? Drawing? Painting? Singing myself to sleep? Writing e-mails I never send? More times than I can count I have found myself unable to sleep, with something longing to get out of my system. Sometimes I send those e-mails, sometimes I don’t.

    Mine is fear and perfection. A whole lot of fear. Fear that I’m not enough. Fear that I never will be. Fear that I will never be able to realize my full potential. Fear that people will hate me. Fear that even if other people love me, I will hate myself.

    It is so hard for me to tell people that I am afraid. I’m a stubborn sort of person, and I do not want to be the one who is scared. I am. I am terrified.

    …I try to help myself get through the day or be happy and content. But for me it always seems like a dead-end. I feel like I’m losing my mind, I am spinning out of control.

    Did you read my mind? I am so glad I am not the only one who goes through this, but at the same time I am sad that any of us have to go through this at all. I do not know what you face, with your addictions. I can’t imagine how hard it must be. What I do know is this: I am pulling for you. I believe that you can overcome your addictions, while I overcome my fears. We can get through it, together.

    Reply
  • 3. Pamela B.  |  June 14, 2011 at 8:25 pm

    Cody,

    I am so sorry to hear about your friend and his sponsor. I wish I had something intelligent to add but can’t find the words.

    I have only known you for a few weeks during class, but it was enough time to know you are a wonderful human being. You care about others and it shows.
    You are a gifted person who has much to offer. Keep your focus on your goal and and keep moving in a forward direction, consistency is important.

    You shared great advice when you encouraged others to communicate and talk with others. I agree there are people who care and will listen and try to understand. When you said there are people to help, it reminds us that there is no disgrace in seeking help (including professional help if needed). We do not have to carry our burdens alone and we should surround ourselves with people who will be supportive–not enablers–supporters who will encourage us to press onward toward the goal.

    Cody, our speech class may be over, but the friends and support you will always have with you. I told you before my last day in class that I would continue to keep you in my prayers and I will. Take care, my friend, and know that you have what it takes to accomplish anything.

    As Andy said, “You have a lot of friends in your corner.”

    Pamela B.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,770 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

